Basic Animal Classes You Should Know

by | Jul 29, 2021 | Guest Article | 0 comments

Basic Animal Classes You Should Know

Animals are amazing creatures. They come in different shapes and sizes, as well as belong to a wide array of species. For most people, fauna is viewed as an adorable set of beings possessing diverse characteristics and living in a wide array of habitats. But animals are more than just their pleasing appearance and awesome traits because each of them plays an important role in survival. There are billions of remarkable species in this world that are vital in the food chain and must co-exist with another, as well as with humankind.

Carolus Linnaeus, a promising man of science, created a particular system to categorize and distinguish animals in accordance with their typical characteristics. According to Linnaeus’s system, every animal is categorized into seven different classifications, which are kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.

Given that there is a broad array of animals on this planet, it is essential for every individual to know their classifications. This is a better way to help everyone recognize the bunch of animals based on their common traits. Listed below are the different animal classes that you should know or be reminded of.


There are many books, platforms, and resources that promote and educate humans about mammals, such as the book about most unique mammals by Geigert. Mammals refer to the group of vertebrate animals wherein the little ones are sustained with milk from the mother’s mammary glands. Moreover, there are various other features that mammals have, such as jaw joint, middle ear, toot replacement, prismatic enamel, and occipital condyles. Another defining thing about mammals is their ability to reproduce by giving birth, which means that their offspring are born alive. Whales, tigers, pandas, dogs, cats, pigs, lions, and horses are mammals.


Birds are a bunch of warm-blooded vertebrates that is a part of the Aves class.  They are known to have these features: feathers, beaks, and lying of hard-shelled eggs. Their hearts are four-chambered while their skeletons are lightweight. Furthermore, their wings are the most remarkable feature, which gives them the ability to fly. But, not the entire class of birds has wings because moa and elephant birds, both already extinct, don’t have wings. There are also birds that are flightless, such as chickens and ostriches.


Are you a fan of the chameleon in the movie Tangled named Pascal or the Arlo from The Good Dinosaur? Then, you should know that both of those adorable characters are reptiles. What are reptiles? They are vertebrates with skins comprise of scales, bony plates, or both. Among the popular species of reptiles are lizards, crocodiles, geckos, snakes, and more. They do not have to keep a constant internal body temperature compared to mammals and other classes of animals. Most reptiles lay their eggs while there are few species that give birth to live offspring, but that doesn’t mean that they are mammals.


Frogs, salamanders, and newts are the common amphibians that the public knows about. Amphibians have soft and moist skins. The moisture is from particular mucus, which prevents their skins from dying. Toads, however, do not have smooth skins for their bodies are covered bumps with raise glands that most of it has toxic discharges. Moreover, the eggs that they lay are jellylike instead of hard shells. The hatchlings basically don’t look similar to their mothers. Most species under this class go through changes, during which they metamorphose from becoming an aquatic species that has the ability to breathe in water to develop into an adult that can either possess gills or lungs.


This class is composed of aquatic and gill-bearing species that don’t have limbs with digits.  Fishes are believed to be the most real vertebrates on the planet. They have evolved from ancestors who don’t have bones approximately 500 million years ago. But now, they already dominate different bodies of water ever since their evolution.  Fishes have gills, which are the primary reason why they can survive and live underwater. There’s a wide array of fishes on Earth, which are the bony fish, cartilaginous fish, and jawless fish. Salmon is one of the examples of bony fish while the shark is a popular cartilaginous fish. For the jawless fish, a great example is a lamprey.






Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest